*

Do friend hate gaining nickeled and also dimed? countless renters overlook vehicle rental extr driver fees. Whether you arrangement on sharing the driving or simply want extr flexibility, it have the right to be convenient to include another driver your rental contract. However at $10 every day or more, this charge adds up quickly—unless you find a way to avoid it altogether.

You are watching: Can my spouse drive my hertz rental car

Be certain to add all potential vehicle drivers to your rental contract. If you skip this step and also a non-listed driver gets into an accident, then your insurance or damage waiver will be voided. It’s no worth taking the danger of gaining hit v a vast bill if there’s an accident.

Buy Collision insurance For much less Than What You’ll Pay in ~ the Rental Counter

There space times when automobile rental additional driver fees don’t apply:

The California Exception

Renting a auto in California? an excellent news: by law, there space no added driver fees in California. This goes for all companies, whether the extr driver is a spouse or who unrelated to you.

Remember, not simply anyone have the right to take the wheel. The added driver requirements to present a valid driver’s license and in addition be provided on the contract.

The new York Reprieve

The State of brand-new York offers renters a little of a break by capping the extr driver fee in ~ $5 per extr driver per day. That’s about fifty percent of whatrentalcompanies fee in various other states. The will get even far better in mid-2023 when the latest law boundaries the maximum lot rental companies have the right to charge to $5in totalper rental for secondary driver.

The exemption for pair in some States

In addition to California, wherein all extr drivers space free, part states enable the main driver’s spouse to be an automatic authorized extr driver without a fee.

When a spouse is legally authorized as an additional driver through state law, it is not important to clearly list castle on the rental contract. In fact, by doing so, the rental agency may push you to pay second driver fee once it is unnecessary to perform so.

States whereby the primary driver’s spouse is automatically detailed as an extra driver include:

Indiana

In Nevada, the dues is capped by law, but adjusts annually based on inflation.

In every various other state, there room no legal constraints on car rental added driver fees, therefore it pays to try to prevent the fee using among the methods below.

Additional Driver Fee policies by automobile Rental Company

It’s vital to keep in mental the plans of every company, because not every are produced equal:

Ask znjke.com for a Quote ~ above a Cheap auto Rental

Enterprise/Alamo

There is no added driver fee because that a spouse, domestic partner or service partner. Because that other additional drivers, there is a fee of $15 every day for each additional authorized driver.

Avis/Budget/Fox/Payless

There is no additional driver fee for a spouse or residential partner. Other people will incur a per-day fee. Avis and also Budget at this time charge $13 per day at most locations yet cap the fee at $65 per rental.

Dollar/Thrifty

Both companies commonly charge per day because that all additional drivers (including spouses). The exception to this ascendancy is the spouses deserve to drive for free for members the Dollar’s Express and Thrifty’s Blue Chip programs.

Hertz

There is a day-to-day charge because that all additional drivers, however if you room a member of Hertz gold Plus Rewards, the dues is waived because that a spouse or domestic partner. At corporate and also participating licensee locations, the added fee is approximately $13.50 per day v a maximum of $189.00 per rental because that each extr driver.

National

The dues is always waived for a spouse or domestic partner the the renter. In addition, family members members share the same attend to as a renter that is also a National’s Emerald society member can additionally drive for free.

Silvercar

Silvercar does not charge for any added driver who meets rental requirements. It’s a an extremely customer-friendly policy, however then again, you frequently pay significantly much more for the privilege the driving their Audis.

Sixt

There is a day-to-day charge for all added drivers consisting of spouses.

Others

For various other companies, contact the company directly to confirm the policy on extr drivers. Any type of savings you obtain from a discount brand may be wiped the end by a fee for secondary driver.

Memberships that Cover added Driver Fees

Another way to get approximately the extr driver dues is to usage a member discount code. The complying with organizations permit secondary driver at no charge if booked v a member discount:

AAA: Members have the right to list extr drivers at no charge through Hertz, Dollar, or Thrifty once they book with the AAA discount code at participating U.S. And Canada locations.

AARP: Members obtain a free additional driver in ~ Avis and Budget once booked v the AARP discount code at participating locations.

Costco: Members get a cost-free additional driver in ~ Alamo and Enterprise when booked through the Costco discount code at areas in the U.S., Canada, U.K., France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, and Spain. At Avis and also Budget, the Costco code just kills the extr driver fees in the joined States.

Ask znjke.com to monitor Rental vehicle Reservation for Price Drops

USAA: in ~ Hertz, USAA members have the right to use a discount password to avoid the fee for a spouse or adult children. At Enterprise, there’s no fee for including spouses and also USAA household members come the rental agreement. Through Avis and also Budget, there’s no fee for pair or other USAA members.

Many exemptions are automatic and don’t require listing the qualifying added driver top top the rental agreement. In fact, particularly listing someone on the contract may end up backfiring and also triggering an additional driver fee that you room actually licensed has been granted to waive. If you’re unclear, always ask the rental agent because that confirmation.

The Takeaway on added Driver Fees

With a little bit that planning, you have the right to avoid payment a fee once you need to include a second driver to her rental contract. Renters in California acquire a totally free pass nevertheless of company, as carry out customers the Silvercar, and spouses or residential partners when renting from Avis, Budget, Enterprise, Alamo, or Fox, and also in numerous states by law. If nobody of these cases apply, then you can frequently avoid the fees by authorized a regular renter routine or utilizing a membership discount code. Be certain to calculate all costs before booking.

See more: Bold And The Beautiful Linsey Godfrey, Caroline Spencers Mystery

If second driver can’t be existing when you pick up the car, you have the right to visit any type of of the brand’s locations and also make the readjust later.