Google Maps is among the best apps Google ever made, and also it’s clear a must-have application on one of two people an Android maker or one iPhone. However, the app does have actually one huge downside, and also it’s one Google has actually been do the efforts to correct in current years. If you have no idea what that is, climate Google’s newest Maps cheat — the 2019 Timeline update — will make you aware of it.

You are watching: Can google maps timeline be wrong


There are more than likely two kinds of Google Maps customers out there. Many of castle don’t care around having to share their location with Google at all times for the application to work, although many would be outraged to find out precisely how much ar data Google gathers from their phones. The others carry out everything feasible to stop sharing place data with their Google account once they’re not making use of Google Maps. Friend obviously can’t take advantage of the navigation application without letting Google recognize where girlfriend are.


*
*
Image source: 9to5Google

People who have Location history tracking allowed might have currently received an e-mail titled 2019 Timeline update that provides them a neat watch at all the locations they went to over the past year. You have the right to see a comparable update every month, 9to5Google explains, yet that yearly roundup walk to present how much place data you’re offering Google in return because that Maps directions, navigation, and also other neat features built into the app:

“Your activity” shows walking and vehicle commutes by distance and also time. Following up space city, place, and also trip highlights that function cover pictures from Maps. Each have the right to be clicked to open up the Timeline because that the job of her visit. The accuracy that this locations list is dependency on friend confirming a visit instead of simply relying on where Maps thinks you are.

What’s an excellent about this email is that it reminds you the you do have some regulate over the ar data girlfriend share with Google. The email offers shortcuts to manage Location history (view and delete data) or pause location tracking altogether. If you’re involved with privacy and you to be unaware that Google Maps saves every solitary place girlfriend visit by default, the email you just received is probably a bit terrifying.

One means to use Google Maps there is no sharing too much data through Google is come log the end of her Google account while using it, return that will defeat the purpose of utilizing Google’s suite of solutions under the very same account and impact your Google Assistant experience in the process. The other way involves a recently released Google Maps feature dubbed incognito setting that allows you dissociate several of your searches and location history from your account. You can use Google Maps incognito mode for everything you don’t want to be included to your location history, and use continuous mode for any kind of navigation experience that can benefit from gift tied to your Google account.

See more: Black Woman Pushed Off Balcony By Police, Watchdog Clears Toronto Police In Korchinski

If you haven’t received your Google Maps 2019 update, it method it’s one of two people delayed, or you’ve to be doing your ideal not to let Google track her history.